Challa recipe: 60 photos

Amazing Challah Recipe

This slightly sweet and rich Challah bread with a shiny golden crust is an impressive-looking recipe that comes together with a few...

Views: 168636
Youtube - @Preppy Kitchen

FAQ

Unlike other enriched breads, a truly kosher challah is made without dairy or meat derivatives, relying on vegetable oils for fat and a contested number of eggs—which are considered pareve, or neither dairy nor meat, in the kosher laws known as kashrut.
What is in challah dough?
  • Active dry yeast.
  • Warm water.
  • All-purpose flour.
  • Egg yolks + some egg whites.
  • Sugar (only 1/4 cup)
  • Salt.
  • Extra virgin olive oil.
  • 2-3 tbsp toasted sesame seeds (optional)
The term “challah” is applied more widely to mean any bread used in Jewish rituals. On the eve of Shabbat, two loaves are placed on the table to reference the Jewish teaching that a double portion of manna fell from heaven on Friday to last through the Saturday Shabbat.
The dough, however, is forbidden to be eaten until the challah is separated. Therefore, challah is separated and burned, to assure that it will not be eaten. WHICH ingredients require the separation of challah? Any dough or batter containing 2 1/2 pounds or more of flour from wheat, spelt, rye, oats or barley.
The Sephardim observe unique customs that are different from those of the Ashkenazim – Middle European Jews. One of the most important differences is that they do not bake challah, the special bread used for the Sabbath.
Posted in category Cooking Videos

Related articles: